IABD 2020


The Planning Committee | 2020 Annual International Conference and Festival

The Conference and Festival Committee consists of the IABD Board of Directors and Staff, Partnering Organization, and a host of Volunteers that work together to plan and implement auditions, dance master classes, performances, seminars and workshops for the Annual International Conference and Festival of Blacks in Dance. Philadanco (DANCO) of Philadelphia, PA, is the 2020 partner organization celebrating their 50th Anniversary. Serving as the local liaison to IABD, DANCO will assist with preparations for the conference and festival and plan pre-conference activities for conference attendees.


The International Association of Blacks in Dance Leadership Team:

Denise Saunders Thompson, President and CEO

Omar Ingram, Programs Director

Vanessa Levros, Membership Director

Tiffany Pittman, Marketing and Public Relations Manager

Toran X. Moore, Programs Coordinator

Carol Foster, Special Programs Assistant

Stephanie Fuselier, Development and Communications Fellow

Nathea Lee, Development Consultant


Conference and Festival Committee Members of Philadanco!:

Joan Myers Brown, Executive/Artistic Director

E. Gaynell Sherrod, Ph.D., Interim Executive Director; Professor of Dance, Virginia Commonwealth University

Kim Bears-Bailey, Associate Artistic Director

Iquail Shaheed, Executive/Artistic Director, Dance Iquail!

Marlisa Brown-Swint, Director, The Philadelphia School of Dance Arts

Engrid Bullock, Administrative Assistant


The International Association of Blacks in Dance Leadership Specialist Team:

Laurel Broomes-Rogers, Volunteer Specialist

Vickie Diggs, on the 1 | philadelphia and IABD Auditions Specialist

Tina Mullone, Session Specialist

Blanche Reese, Registration and Vendor Specialist

Kalea Selmon, Production Manager

Jay Staten, Track Specialist

Milton T. Tatum, Technical Director and Lighting Designer

Rasta Thomas, Artistic Lead, IABD Auditions

Conference and Festival Committee for The International Association of Blacks in Dance:

Yvonne Walker, Board Chair, Baltimore Dance Tech

Joan Myers Brown, Honorary Chair, The Philadelphia Dance Company, Philadanco!

Cleo Parker Robinson, Vice President, Cleo Parker Robinson Dance

Ann Williams, 2nd Vice President, Dallas Black Dance Theatre

Lula Washington, Treasurer, Lula Washington Dance Theatre

Vivine Scarlett, Secretary, dance Immersion

Debbie Blunden-Diggs, Membership Chair, Dayton Contemporary Dance Company

Charles Augins, Duke Ellington School of the Arts

Vikki Baltimore-Dale, University of Las Vegas, Nevada

Beverly Harper, Portfolio Associates, Inc.

Sandra Foster-King, University of California, San Diego

Ayisha Morgan-Lee, Hill Dance Academy Theatre

Mercy Nabirye, OneDanceUK

Malik Robinson, Cleo Parker Robinson Dance

Abdel Salaam, Forces of Nature Dance Theatre

Iquail Shaheed, Dance Iquail!

E. Gaynell Sherrod, Ph.D., Virginia Commonwealth University

Katherine J. Smith, Duke Ellington School of the Arts

Dora Rae Vactor, Cleveland Dance Movement

Tamica Washington-Miller, Lula Washington Dance Theatre